Church of our Lady of the Wayside in Connemara

Back in 1971 my wife and I honeymooned in the west of Ireland. Out in Connemara, in the middle of nowhere, there was a stunning modern church – The Church of our Lady of the Wayside. Of course, I took a photo using my Canon Demi – the little camera that let me get 72 colour slides on a 36 exposure film. For the real nerds, I used Agfachrome film which always seemed to give me better results than Kodachrome.

image002

I’m never going to say that old is good and new is bad. Some pretty drab buildings were erected in the 60s, but I found this one simply superb. It’s not that it is a religious building. It just has panache and style that I like.

My wife, in her little mini-dress looks good too!

We celebrated our Ruby wedding anniversary by revisiting the area and I’m pleased to say that church still looks good.image004

Sadly, the weather wasn’t quite as wonderful but my wife still looks fine. I can do without ‘Stop and Pray’ signs. These things are a matter of personal choice.

The cattle grid of 1971 appears to have gone. Does this say something about a change in agriculture.

image006

Being bold over 60s, this time we ventured further into the church and found an opening plaque.

image008

I love the ceiling and the glass.

image010

In fact, it’s just delightful all round.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Church of our Lady of the Wayside in Connemara”

  1. Harry Mcclean Says:

    We too “found” this gem when meandering away from Westport 6 years ago & make a visit every year when we tour the West Coast. Also the Franciscan Friary in Rossnowlagh,both so peaceful

Leave a Reply

