Camp Coffee

I am not a bottle collector. I certainly don’t buy bottles. So how come I have more than fifty of them? The answer is that I might dig them up, or I just find them, or other people give them to me.

If things are given to me, I tend to keep them.

Today I am looking at a bottle which once contained ‘Camp Coffee’.

I do not find glass bottles the easiest thing to photograph. By their very nature they are a bit see-through. But here goes.

image002

The jar says very clearly that here we have Ess (essence of) Camp Coffee, with the two words sharing the initial letter C, and chicory.

Now my dad might have been described as a coffee snob. Even in times of poverty, he would seek out the right beans which he (or often we children) would grind in a hand powered mill. Contraptions would then gurgle and hiss on the ancient stove, producing a liquid so strong and utterly foul tasting. Dad loved it. I think it is a wonder I still drink coffee at all. It was truly awful to my young taste buds.

But Camp Coffee didn’t suit dad at all. Essence of chicory was no substitute for the real thing in Dad’s eyes. Maybe he just couldn’t get it to the right strength – or maybe he really did have a need for caffeine which chicory doesn’t provide. Actually, Camp Coffee was 4% caffeine.

We kids loved the bright labels on the bottles and certainly felt that a bottle of the stuff should go camping with us. It must have done sometimes otherwise we wouldn’t have known about it.

Camp Coffee was first made by a firm called Patersons in the 1870s.

image004

The Glasgow firm produced it until 1974.

image006

Then they were taken over, but the drink is still made today and finds much favour with bakers of coffee cakes.

My bottle is, I think, an older one since it has no method of fixing a screw top and so must have been closed with something like a cork.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

