Sixty Years Ago

I’m never sure about this getting older business. There are advantages but also problems. I’m not as fit as I once was and bits of me don’t work as well as they once did. I need glasses to see clearly. My hearing is not as acute as it once was and I tend to have aching joints. The big advantage, of course is that getting older is much better than not getting older. I may not like to realise I remember things from 60 years ago, but at least I can. I feature in today’s photo and so does my brother who has now been dead for about as long as he was alive.

What we look at are two little lads having fun – a photo taken by my dad.

image002

My dad’s caption tells us we had seen a circus and were being trapeze artists. My brother, always braver and bolder than me is actually clambering up. I seem to be pulling on a rope. The framework normally supported our garden swing which clearly formed the basis for our flying trapeze.

The collection of old junk in the yard completely passed me by. I think it was soon after this January 1954 shot that the yard was crazy paved in Yorkshire stone, purchased at a house auction sale just around the corner. Perhaps this portrays childhood in the 1950s although I now think we were a financially impoverished family so maybe the way we lived was not typical. However, money never bought happiness and I had the happiest of childhoods. I was surrounded by loving and caring parents who looked after me, the baby of the family.

There are no new toys in sight – nothing that cost lots of money – but clearly we had lots of fun.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Sixty Years Ago”

  1. chmjr2 Says:

    Enjoyed your story and picture today. Brought back some nice memories for me also.

Leave a Reply

