Watching lichen grow

Many years ago a local historian asked me if I had any photos of Anns Farm. I searched through my collection and came up with this one.

image002

Really, I had taken a photo of my son at our garden gate back in 1979. Anns Farm just happened to form the backdrop. Anyway, the photograph got added to the historian’s collection and then, in 2001, I decided I’d have a ‘now’ photo. I still live in the same house and still have the same view.

image004

There are things to note. First of all, I no longer had a son at home and we no longer bothered with a gate. Ann’s Farm has been converted from a little cottage with a plethora of outbuildings into a large house. But what struck me was the growth of the brickwork lichen over 22 years. Of course, you’d never notice any change on a day to day basis but over that long period it was clear that the lichen had grown a great deal.

Now I am no expert on these odd little non flowering plants. I shan’t even try an identification.

Sad to say the lichen has gone. A reversing lorry managed to knock the whole wall down. It happened whilst we were out and we have no idea who did it. The lorry was blue and would have had a broken red rear light. That ended watching that particular lichen for me but there are plenty of others about.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

