February – Eric Ravilious

Gosh, how time flies by. It doesn’t seem like a month since I wrote about the January picture on my calendar – and now it is nearing the end of February so I shall share the February image which is one of my favourite Eric Ravilious paintings.

image002

Eric has certainly captured the beauty of downland scenery in winter. Our Mr Ravilious called this, simply, ‘Wiltshire Landscape’. The actual location is unspecified. I see it as being the B3098 road heading east, somewhere near Bratton or Edington but it could also be many other places and is probably a compilation of various places. Those of us who take photos can learn some of the arts of composition from painters. This image has the road and telegraph poles to lead your eye into the picture. Nothing is central. I know some photographers have a rule of thirds suggesting that main features should be a third of the way up or down or across.

I don’t always agree. It seems to me that rules like that are just starting points.

Well, I have enjoyed looking at February. Soon I shall see what Eric has to offer for March.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

