A bit of a hoot

Yes, once upon a time my son bought me a hooter. I never imagined really that it was anything but modern repro, but I liked the look of it. Now I have no idea whether it is a repro item or whether, perhaps, it did once grace a vintage car. But actually, I don’t really mind. I like it and that’s enough for me.

image002

There is the hooter with a nice big rubber bulb to squeeze and a well-engineered horn which does get wider throughout its length. Also visible is a rather careworn bracket which may have fixed it to a car.

Give the bulb a squeeze and a very satisfying hoot comes out of the horn.

image004

A traditional sounding time for this horn has been midnight as a New Year begins. It adds to the general cacophony that greets each New Year in a village.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

