A Ringlet

I’m a looker and learner when it comes to butterflies. Although wildlife has always fascinated me and I can identify the most common butterfly varieties OK, the even slightly unusual ones can leave me seeking help (usually from www.ukbutterflies.co.uk) .

On 22nd June I saw a very dark looking butterfly fluttering around and settling briefly, usually on greenery, from time to time. I didn’t recognise it so I went after it, camera in hand. I have to say, it didn’t want to be photographed.

image002

But there she (I think it’s a female) is and she is definitely a ringlet. The reason for the name is obvious. Those rings at the rear end of the wing give it away.

I couldn’t get in close for a sharp picture and had to satisfy myself with rather distant shots.

image004

I certainly wasn’t sure I knew this butterfly but that uk butterfles web site describes them as fairly common. It also says they don’t emerge until July, so this one was a few days early.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “A Ringlet”

  1. izzwizz Says:

    Those are pretty good shots considering it didn’t want to be spotted

Leave a Reply

