Eric Ravilious – August

For the past month I have been looking at what I see as a slightly odd Ravilious picture. Odd – but I have enjoyed it. This was one of Eric’s designs for Wedgwood and it has a more limited palette than his water colours.

image002

This is called Tent and Parasols and comes from a series called ‘Garden’. I have to say that I see it more as a beech scene, possibly on some Caribbean island.

But how would I know this? My travels have never taken me out of Western Europe. Those sun-drenched beaches with a bit of shade from palm trees lie outside my experience. Well they do if you forget St Ives.

image004

That has the beach and the palms. But at that time it was hardly sun drenched.

But the sun did arrive later.

image006

I wonder what September will bring on my Ravilious calendar.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

