Le Tommy Café

 

It was just about ten years ago that my wife and I visited Le Tommy Café. This eating house is at Pozieres, the site of fierce fighting in the battle of the Somme in World War One. The café recreates (or did ten years ago) a little bit of trench life for diners and drinkers to see.

image002

Here we peep into a trench or dug out and see the soldiers awaiting their turn to go over the top.

And here’s debris and junk scattered near the trench.

image004

As you can see Le Tommy is a café and a museum in one. Apart from the recreations outside, the walls inside are a mass of photos. It is (or was) a very handy visit for we folks finding where our ancestors had to fight.

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Le Tommy Café”

  1. Mom Says:

    Oh that’s a little bit weird!!

    • marketlavingtonmuseum Says:

      Not really. It’s a kind of museum with a café attached. I thought it was great.

      • Mom Says:

        Well I’m sure it’s just one of those “must do” immersion type of experiences! I would be freaked out and sure one of them would come to life and jump out at me. I’m also a little freaked out by clowns…so, it’s not real surprising 🙂

      • locksands Says:

        It’s a really good reconstruction. It gave me insight into what both my grandfathers (and both my wife’s grandfathers) went through. All four of them returned but from all accounts my grandfathers were never really the same men again. I understand the being freaked out bit, but for me understanding helps me appreciate those grandfathers – and a big collection of great uncles that bit better.

Leave a Reply

