A First Table Tennis Trophy

When I attended a recent school reunion, for former pupils at Hazelwick School in Crawley, Sussex, I had forgotten that I had a piece of memorabilia which might have interested others. I saw myself as a bit of a low profile student. I wasn’t an actor although I did odd technical bits for plays. I wasn’t a musician, except in my out of school band in which I was the drummer. I wasn’t really a sports player. But then I came upon my first ever table tennis trophy which was won as a representative of Hazelwick.

image002

As we can see, I was playing in the Crawley and District Table Tennis League. The reverse of this medallion carries the information about why I won this.

image004

Yes, the Hazelwick Youth Wing (very much a part of the school) were youth club division champions for the 1965/66 season. I was a regular player that year and we were proud to carry off the trophy.

For the record, 49 years on I still play table tennis. These days, and for the last 42 years, I play in the Devizes and District League. I don’t win all that many games, but I still enjoy it.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

