Eric Ravilious – November

I have been back in seventh heaven in November. My Eric Ravilious calendar has been showing me a chalk downland scene and one I am very familiar with.

image002

This is not the much loved Sussex of my childhood.  This is the equally loved Wiltshire of my adult life. And I was last at the Westbury White Horse on October 1st when I took this picture.

image004

What has changed since 1939, when Eric produced his painting, is that the horse has been concreted and painted. You no longer get the chalky streaks flowing off the hooves in rainy weather.

Of course, the trains have changed as well. From this viewpoint, but not where Eric has put his train, I managed to get two of the present day trains.

image006

These are nearer in to Westbury.

I wanted a closer look at Eric’s train.

image008

I should say that loco is stylised. It doesn’t look to be anything I’d have expected the Great Western Railway to have been operating in 1939. But it looks the part as it works hard with its mixed goods train.

What a lovely picture!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

