January 1st

A Happy New Year to one and all.

I can look back on some highs and lows in 2014. Losing my sister to cancer was probably the low point. She was the only other remaining member of my childhood home; the person who had known me since I was born.

And for a high point, what better than the birth of my new granddaughter. Birth and death surround all of us all of the time.

And my hopes for 2015? When I was a working man I had to set myself targets for the year. I had two and they were always the same and had nothing to do with work. So my targets for 2015 are:

1) To be alive at the end of it.

2) To still be smiling at the end of it

Here are some things that aren’t on a wish list.

I love my clutter, but have little need for material things (although as and when my computer bites the dust I will, immediately, get a new one. I haven’t ventured into smart phones or tablets and whilst I accept their potential use, I seem to manage quite well without. I’m old fashioned and like my books on paper although I think electronic readers are very good and clear to use. We still use the television we bought for mother in law when she went into a nursing home last century. Why change what works. Actually I was given a tablet for Christmas and a spot of mild ill health made it seem very useful.

By and large I prefer to cut down on use of the world’s resources. We don’t go out and buy the latest fads and fashions just because everybody else does. Our current car is now some 11 years old. It, too, would get replaced if it suffered a terminal failure and I’m sure when we do replace it we’ll get more miles per gallon from a newer one. But our annual mileage is quite low so I’m in no hurry to dash off to a car showroom.

I can say this with confidence for I know my wife agrees. We don’t need a new set of kitchen cupboards. Ours are now quite well aged but still serve their purpose. There’s no need to change them. I can’t imagine we’ll change any major pieces of furniture. Our lounge furniture we have had for more than forty years with some rebuilding (done by us) a couple of years ago. Dining table and sideboard are of the same vintage but we replaced the original chairs about twenty years ago.

And something I’d like? More sunrises like this one.

image002

Tags:

Leave a Reply

