Is that a paver or a raver?

I am fond of bricks and tiles. I often think of them as singularly attractive building materials. Bricks can come in such a broad range of colours and they are outlined with mortar in a different colour. Different, simple patterns can be achieved by bricklayers. To me that makes for a fair bit of fascination.

I know other folks will think a brick is a brick is a brick and they are rather dull blocks of man-made mystery. I can see that point of view but I have a fascination with the history and with the brick making process. I can be keen to find out just a bit more.

That was certainly the case when, recently, we found ourselves in Richmond in North Yorkshire. This is a pretty place with cobbled streets and Market Place surrounded by buildings of mixed ages and styles. And in some places brick pavers have been used.

image002

That’s probably clear, but let’s just enlarge that central brick.

image003

Here we have a Crossley’s Roadway Paver REGD 561417. I rather like the way a streak of muck has turned this into Crossley’s Roadway Raver – which creates thoughts of something entirely different.

I can’t find out much about these brick pavers. Crossley’s were based in Middlesbrough which is twenty or so miles from Richmond. I’m guessing that these bricks were made to some hard standard to cope with the wear and tear of passing traffic.

Can anybody out there tell me any more?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

