A South London collection

More record sleeves

I was quite amused to find four record sleeves in a row, all printed up for music traders in South London and here they are.

image002

Let’s start on the right.

image003

C and L Weaver were in Norbury. That was a suburban station on the line I took into London back in my train spotting days. Our trains never stopped there so I couldn’t tell you a thing about the place.

The record is

image005

The Darktown Strutters’ Ball played by Spike Hughes and his Dance Orchestra.

Next is

image006

L A Richards of Wimbledon – one of my frequent venues as a train spotter.

The record is a Paul Wightman one called Ragamuffin Romeo.

image008

Third up we have

image009

Rhythm Ltd of Thornton Heath. Thornton Heath was another suburban station my trains used to race through.

The record is a jazz standard.

image011

It’s Ain’t Misbehavin’ performed by Jack Hylton and his Orchestra.

Which brings us to the fourth sleeve –

image012

Willy’s of Deptford.

Deptford entered my life when I was a student. We used to enjoy a Saturday morning jaunt down to Deptford Market, rarely buying anything although I still have one item I bought there to my knowledge.

Anyway this record is

image014

We’re Uncomfortable played by Eddie Norris and his Ambassador’s Band. And this is the one I recorded. I played it on the gramophone I use most for actually playing records. It isn’t clockwork but it is quite elderly.

image016

It’s a battery electric gramophone and so uses a lightweight pick up which causes much less damage to the surface of the record. Normally it is in the cupboard behind it and those doors serve as a great filter for removing the crackle of these old records. The gramophone was bought for my wife’s grandfather as he got a bit arthritic. I think we inherited it back in about 1969. It is still in regular use.

You can click here to hear the record play. The record is really a comment on the uselessness of men back in the 1930s.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

