The Knaresborough Cobbler

Knaresborough is a town in North Yorkshire although once upon a time it was in the West Riding of Yorkshire.

It is quite close to Harrogate, the highly regarded spa town. But for my money (such as it is) Knaresborough has real attractions.

When we visited in my last year as a film (rather than digital) cameraman in 1997 we came upon this cobbler.

image002

This has been mounted up for entry into our local show at some point – probably in 1998.

I fell in love with this place. I was so reminded of my grandfather’s shop back in the early 1950s.

The shop, in truth was aimed to a degree at tourists. Grandfather’s shop which was actually in a spas town – Tunbridge Wells – would never have done that.

Our Knaresborough Cobbler has clearly adopted a sort of period dress code to go with his undoubtedly period style shop.

Having gone in because it looked so lovely, we had to purchase something, although I don’t think he’d have minded had we not. Our cobbler made key fobs from scraps of leather and I was able to choose one with my initial on it. After many years in my pocket it does look a bit tired now, but it is still going strong.

image004

I’m glad to have a souvenir of this visit, but I do wonder how that cobbler and his shop fare now.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

