Lost siblings

There aren’t many days go past when you don’t think of family members who have died. Recently I got in touch with a new family member – quite a distant half third cousin – and I so wanted to tell my sister about this contact and show photos she sent. But of course, my sister died last year so it can’t be done. Oddly, I don’t feel the same need to share this with my brother. It is 35 years since he died and genealogy wasn’t on the agenda back then. But things happen most days and the thought comes that I might tell one of them about it. So let’s honour those departed siblings today with a picture of them from before my own birth. This photo was taken in 1947. It was taken, of course, by my Dad. image002 The Lloyd loom settee had clearly been moved into the garden at the family home in Wadhurst, Sussex, which was where I was born. Paula, my sister, looks happy to have a brother. He had been born in what is recalled as an awful winter with all sorts of problems, but he looks to have thrived on it and is clearly showing an interest in the world. I remember that settee with affection, too. My dad didn’t quite approve of settees. He claimed that people didn’t use them by choice and that if offered a chance to sit anywhere, they always took a single seater chair. It got replaced by two arm chairs. But of course nothing can replace the brother and sister. Please don’t get any idea that I live a life of sadness though. I don’t. My memory is good and I have lots of good memories. I’ve known my wife for the vast bulk of my life so I have someone I can share most things with. I have no thoughts of having been dealt a lousy hand in life. I think I’ve had a great one.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Lost siblings”

  1. Janet Says:

    As we get older the circle of friends and relations with whom to share memories gets smaller and smaller. Treasure the ones remaining.

  2. Mom Says:

    fantastic–both the photo and the idea behind the telling ❤

Leave a Reply

