The Gramophone Project

About a fortnight ago I wrote about an old gramophone up in my loft and described it as a project to get into order. It had missing pieces. Most serious were the horn and the sound box.

Well luck came my way in the shape of an Ebayer who needed to downsize and who was selling a project. It had the bits I needed to get a more or less complete gramophone.

It was a buyer collect item and I had quite a journey to collect it. But that was no problem for the bits weren’t that far from my cousin and we met up with her and had a good old natter. It was lovely.

The pieces I came home with were just the job. I’d probably prefer a different sound box for I feel the one I acquired is slightly modern and a bit tinny in sound. But it fits and plays. I need to find a way of fixing the horn a bit more securely in the elbow. In other words it isn’t quite the right horn but it looks the part.

I’ve applied a bit of wax to the bodywork but haven’t yet bothered much with the bit I might call ‘tarting it up’. I am, though, totally chuffed to have a working gramophone.

If you looked at my YouTube video a fortnight ago I said I had got the machine working with borrowed parts. Those borrowed parts came from another slightly incomplete gramophone I recently acquired and donated to our local museum. That other gramophone had no elbow. The Ebay project had a broken elbow which I got repaired. So my Ebay purchase actually got two gramophones into working order.

Let’s take a look at my gramophone as is now.

image002

There’s still work to be done but it is coming on.

 

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “The Gramophone Project”

  1. Thom Hickey Says:

    Great to see the progress! Thom.

  2. Janet Says:

    Great work.

Leave a Reply

