A bus at Swindon

This is another photo where I am no longer certain of the date but I believe it is 1970.

I know I was in Swindon that year.

Swindon, of course, is a renowned railway centre. So what have I got? A photo of an old bus.

image002

I don’t have much knowledge about buses but somebody out there will tell me more, I daresay.

The bus is clearly in use for driver training for it carries an L plate. This is what I think it is.

I reckon it was built by Bristol Omnibus Company and has an Eastern Coachworks body. By the way, it always seemed daft to me to make the chassis in Bristol and then transport it to Lowestoft to be bodied. My guess is that this bus dates from around 1949.

As is often the case, I would like somebody to tell me if I am right.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “A bus at Swindon”

  1. Chasing Sunsets Says:

    Why don’t you go ahead and google it to find out if you are right:)

    • locksands Says:

      Why don’t I google it?

      1) I have and have found info about a very similar bus
      2) Asking for help from others might find an interesting person
      3) All sorts of people like to share knowledge. I always reckon asking for help can make other people feel good.
      4) Using google is an individual rather than a social activity.
      Are those reasons enough?

      • Chasing Sunsets Says:

        Hahah! You have clearly answered my questions:) Because you had not mentioned anywhere why you din’t go for the 1st thing that would pop up on everyone’s mind:)
        Well, hope you find what you are looking for!

Leave a Reply

