Little Horsted

Back in 1892 my granny was born in a tiny little Sussex village called Little Horsted and here I have a postcard of the place.

image002

This photo was in my grandmother’s collection but it wasn’t sent to her. However, it was sent to a place where she worked.

image004

I picture a scene in which Granny, then just a lass of 13, was away from her home and feeling a bit lost and lonely. Perhaps a fellow servant, older and wiser, received this card and as the message was business like rather than personal, she gave it to Granny as a reminder of home. Actually, Granny and her parents moved home regularly. Her dad was a woodsman and they lived in cottages near the current job. But Granny did attend Little Horsted School and so non doubt she knew this scene well.

I can’t fathom out who Miss House was. Unlike my Granny, she was not at Saxon Court at the time of the 1911 census. But whoever she was, I thank her for I feel sure she was trying to make Granny smile.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

