The Old Sow

My dad, a true man of Sussex, was inclined, if ever the opportunity arose, to put on his best Sussex accent and sing, ‘The Old Sow’. You could say this song was his party piece.

During my childhood I never heard it anywhere else. It was only as I started collecting 78 rpm records that I came across Albert Richardson singing it. To be honest, I thought my dad did it better.

When my late sister was trading, she came across the record and also some fairly modern sheet music for this song.

image002

image004Altogether there are eight verses which get the piglets onto the breakfast table! It isn’t a song for vegetarians!

The record is the one mentioned on the music front – a Zonophone variant.

image006

The sheet music has chords for a ukulele but Albert, like my dad, sang it unaccompanied.

You can see and hear my old HMV gramophone playing this record by clicking here.

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

