A girl in Kalamazoo

It probably won’t surprise folks to know that I’m something of a fan of Glen Miller. Over the years I have garnered in a lot of original 78rpm records but I also have versions on CD. One of his songs begins:

A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H,
I got a girl
In Kalamazoo.

Branches of my family ended up in Kalamazoo and amongst them was Sarah Ann Huggett who was born in 1840 in Peasmarsh in Sussex, England.

In 1860 she married her quite distant cousin, Ben Huggett in Michigan, USA. He, too, was born in Peasmarsh but he was eight years older than Sarah Ann so they probably weren’t too close as kids although they’d have surely known each other.

They had several children and lived to a reasonable age. Well actually, Sarah Ann was only 63 when she died and here we have a copy of her death certificate.

image002

So Sarah Ann Huggett – a name she had before and after marriage was my girl in Kalamazoo. Both she and Ben, her husband, descend from  John Huggett and Philapelphia (née) Vann who were my 5 greats grandparents.

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “A girl in Kalamazoo”

  1. Luanne @ TFK Says:

    Maybe we have relatives in common. Did you know that the flip side of I’ve Got a Gal was At Last? I learned that this year when my daughter sung it at my dad’s Kalamazoo funeral.

    • locksands Says:

      Sorry to hear about your Dad. Today is actually the anniversary of the death of mine – 19 years ago. It seems like yesterday that he was last here with us.

      It’s probably a very outside chance that we have relatives in common. My Kalamazoo folks are distant and I haven’t done much chasing after them.

      And yes, as a collector of 78rpm records, I did know the flip side of Kalamazoo.

      Cheers

Leave a Reply

