Photographic tint

My wife has been sorting through some of our stationery items. For years they might have been called stationary as well for they haven’t moved. But now they are being looked through, checked over and, in quite a lot of cases, discarded.

But some items are interesting. I think this must have belonged to my wife’s father who, sadly, died in the 1960s.

image002

This is a small bottle of blue photographic tint.

In times past photographs were black and white but artists could hand paint on colour. Many of us will have photos which have been tinted. I can assert that the process was still used in the 1960s. I have a hand tinted photo of my grandparents celebrating their Golden Wedding anniversary which was in 1966.

In fact there are still artists who do this by hand, but I suspect more people, these days, would find a way of using computer software to add colour to old photos.

This bottle of blue is small – here it is alongside a ruler.

image004

It has to be said that there is now no sign of the tint ink being liquid.

This is certainly not a process I am likely to take up. I have always found difficulty making writing and drawing implements do just what I’d like.

But here is that tinted golden wedding photo of my grandparents.

image006

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

