Stationery Office paper weight

The UKs Stationery Office was in existence for a couple of hundred years. There must be tens of thousands of items that were made that carry the SO trade mark. Here is one of them.

image002

This is a glass paper weight and as well as the SO mark with the crown it carries a part number of 69-13.

The age of this is uncertain. My guess, and it is no more than that, is that it dates from the 1950s or 60s. I like the item. Father in Law was a civil servant and probably used one of these items although just where this one came from, I am not sure. What I like is really its elegant simplicity and functionality. It is designed to stop papers blowing in a breeze and it has no added frills.

Amazing what items we seem to gather!

I do not collect paper weights and do not want any more. Neither am I interested in the cash value of this or any other paper weight. It is enough that I find the item pleasing.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Stationery Office paper weight”

  1. Christian Richardson Says:

    I came across your post via the power of google. I’m a civil servant and my colleague retired this week. I’m pleased to say he has give me this very model of paperweight. Very tactile.

Leave a Reply

