The beauty of a chilly morning

I’m looking back to January and we did have some chilly mornings. For one of them, my weather station recorded minus 7.8 degrees Celsius which is really quite cold for this part of the world.

However, the morning shown here was less cold, but still a lovely crisp and chilly start to the day.

One of the things I always enjoy seeing is the mist rolling over the hills. There may not be much colour but I still see this as a really beautiful scene.

image002

Yes, it really is a monochrome world but the trees display their grace and those in the know can make out features on the scarp slope of Salisbury Plain beyond.

Nearer at hand, and actually on my own field, there are sheep.

image004At the moment there is a flock of 25 sheep on my land. Once upon a time the sheep would have been mine, but I gave them up some 15 years ago. Now they belong to a friend. He does the hard work and I get the pleasure of seeing them and here’s a small group, finding something in the frost covered grass.

All those little humps? They are ant hills. Our soil is a bit acidic and is suited to these little hard working insects. They in their turn bring in bird life, happy to feed on them.

I do feel very lucky to have all this immediately outside my house.

Both pictures were taken from the bathroom window.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

