Prize winnings

It is almost thirty years since my childhood village flower show ended. I have a number of souvenirs, not least the cup I won in the fruit section in the very last year. I wrote about that before and you can read it by clicking here.

For no particular reason I also kept an envelope of prize winnings and here it is.

image002

Let’s start at the top. In this year F6 was my code. It was deemed important that judges didn’t see names so all entrants had a code which would not be the same from year to year. Section 3 was the fruit section and the individual class was 79. I wouldn’t have known what that was but for the word ‘Double’ written on the envelope. Double points were awarded for collections so class 79 was for a collection of fruits. I got third prize in this section.

The points were doubled and so to was the prize and in writing this I have actually opened the envelope – oh so carefully so as not to damage it – and for the first time so I can reveal what the prize was.

image004

And there we have two nice bright and shiny 20p coins which have been untouched by human hands since 1987.

If I remember correctly you got 50p for a first place, 30p for a second and 20p for a third, doubled up for the collection of fruits class.

And just for fun I’m working out (or rather getting the web to do it) what 40p in 1987 might have been in today’s terms.

In straight retail price index I’d need 90p now to match that 40p. But were I working, in the time taken to earn 40p in 1987 I’d now get £1.23.

However, my 40p is now back in the envelope and kept again.

Why? I don’t really know.

My present village flower show abandoned cash prizes some years ago, recognising that people enter for fun rather than for reward.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

