A February gift

I have often thought that we should give gifts in February. Sometimes February can be a filthy month with murky weather. Winter might seem to drag on – although not this year when we have barely had a real winter. People tend to get to a bit of a low ebb in February. Actually, I can’t say I do for I love the appearance of the first spring flowers and that includes the white crocuses planted for daughter’s wedding four years ago.

image002

But a random and unexpected gift can still bring pleasure and I was given one this year. It’s a box of pencils.

image004Inside the box there are six beautiful pencils.

image006If anyone hasn’t guessed, these pencils are decorated with art work by Eric Ravilious and produced for museums to sell.

image008What a fantastic gift for me. It really brightened me and it is a gift that will last a long time. Thanks to Clare, Nick and Henry.

Leave a Reply

