Daffodils at Kew

A perfect mix! A railway poster – albeit London Underground and a garden! What could be better?

image002

This is a February calendar image and as I write this I can see daffodils out in my much more rural garden.

This work of art is by Catherine Alexander and dates from 1924. It is titled ‘Daffodils at Kew Gardens’ but the poster implies similar sights at Hampton Court as well.

Actually, I see the wording of this poster as an argument for an integrated transport system. If I arrived at Wimbledon station I might feel it a good idea to go to a very handy Hampton Court rail station by train. But in 1924 that service was operated by a different company so it got no mention.

–ooo–

I’m just going to add that today would have been the birthday of my mother. If she were still alive this would have been the 22nd occasion her birthday could be truly celebrated.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

