The London and South Western Railway

As a kid I lived in the south east of England. Of course, back then our railways were nationalised but the stock we saw reflected history. I was accustomed to seeing locos built by the London Brighton and South Coast Railway which had ceased to exist some 25 years before I was born. I lived on what had been that company’s network so no wonder it was always my favourite old company – the one I deemed built the best locos and had the class coaches.

But the London and South Western Railway ran it a close second. That company had much longer main lines and needed big, powerful locos. These had not survived on the old Brighton network for the main lines had all been electrified.

Given a free choice of railway memorabilia to own, I’d always pick a Brighton item. But sometimes things just come your way and this carriage print showing a map of the old London and South Western system was something my sister had (probably hoping to sell) and I have inherited it,

image002

We can pick out that main line down to Exeter which looks so straight on the map and from there to the west we have the line that curves round Dartmoor to Plymouth. Had that line not been closed the sea wall being washed away on the ‘other’ line at Dawlish would not have been quite so disastrous. Lines also head off to the North Devon and Cornish coast.

There are a couple of inserts to show more detail.

image004Lines around the Solent and near Plymouth.

image006I don’t know much about this map but I assume it dates from before 1923 so it is more than 90 years old. I do know that Bude didn’t join the rail network until 1898 so that gives the map a 25 year window.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “The London and South Western Railway”

  1. sed30 Says:

    Reblogged this on sed30's Blog and commented:
    A lost art

  2. Pete Says:

    Reblogged this on Pete's Favourite Things.

Leave a Reply

