A Treasure Measure

Tala measuring jug

In my childhood household my mum used scales to weigh out cooking ingredients. She had one of those spring balances with a big circular dial but then got a proper balance with two pans – one for the ingredient and one to put the weights on.

As a former scientist I cringe a bit as I write that. I really ought to call those weights masses but I decided to slip into the more common usage.

I was amazed when I first saw my future mother in law dealing with ingredients. She had no weighing scales and used a jug – a conical bit of aluminium in truth – to do her ‘weighing’.

image002

Inside – and I thought and still do – jolly difficult to read – there are loads of different scales – each headed up with the names of ingredients.

This scale was for sugar, lentils, haricots, barley and rice. Clearly you were actually measuring out a volume. The scale told you that if you filled up to a particular line then that volume would have the mass indicated.

image004Sago, raisins and groats were clearly a little less dense so you needed a bit more volume to get the same mass.

image9

Ground almonds weighed less again for the same volume.

image006

Filled right up you’d only get 6 ounces.

The official name for this device was the Tala cooks treasure measure.

image008I suppose this dates to the 1940s or 50s.

 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

