21st May

A personal item here. It was 50 years ago today that I had my first date with the lady who is now my wife. For a few months my future mother in law helped us celebrate by putting an appropriate number of candles on a bun for us to share. If we still did that we’d need 600 candles now and the bun would have to be one heck of a size.

So how has the day been marked in the past. The honest answer is barely ever. We were both workers and so the day was like any other. But back in 2002 the working day for me involved being at Bristol zoo so here are a few zoo photos from May 21st 2002.

image002

A giant sized bug – I think it is quite pretty.

image004

We all love meerkats

image006

A swimming penguin.

A sea lion.image008

Well I had a nice day, clearly. I wonder what my wife did on that day.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

