A recipe book

I was looking for a recipe the other day and I came across a book on the shelf which I didn’t know we had. It comes from Cheshire and must have belonged to my wife’s mother for she was raised in Cheshire. Actually, I, too, have Cheshire ancestry but from longer ago.

Anyway here is the cover of this book which looks to have been well used.

image002

This is the Cheshire Federation of Women’s Institutes Jubilee Book of Recipes. It was published in 1935 so I assume the Jubilee was the Silver Jubilee of King George V.

image004

I’ve just picked one recipe from the book to show – a recipe with a royal past.

image006

As you can see this was spread over two pages so I have had to stitch them together. I wonder how true the ‘Royal’ story is.

As is often the case it is adverts that add interest.

image008

Geo Fowler, Lee and Co Ltd must have heard that the WI members were into jam and associated cooking. And back in the thirties they probably were and probably had to be.

Fascinating stuff!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

