Kew (and elsewhere) in June

The Kew Calendar for June has a really cheerful piece of art by Betty Swanwick. It dates from 1937.

image002

Once again we are implored to get there via Kew Gardens Station and informed that it’ll cost us one penny – an old penny – to gain admission. These days, typically, the cost of entry is £14. This is a huge increase. If we look at the highest conversion of the old penny to current times at comes out at just over £1. Let’s just say that it used to be very cheap.

My own garden isn’t at its best in June but here are some blooms from my patch.

image004

I think these are granny’s bonnets. They grow like weeds but who cares. I think they are lovely.

image006

Whatever these are, they do well.

image008

These remind me of the bells I ring, complete with clapper.

image010

 

Lovely!

image012Now if only I could be more artistic I reckon I could turn them into a Kew quality poster

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

