Stonehenge 100 years ago

If I find it hard to explain to people just where we live I usually end up by saying we are near Stonehenge. In a straight line the ancient monument is about ten miles from where I live.

In my collection of books I have one about Stonehenge which was written in 1916 – 100 years ago.

image002

We can see it was written by an expert and should have good drawings – like the frontispiece.

image004

In truth, the book is quite modern. All sorts of myths and legends are given but in the ‘What is Stonehenge?’ chapter the idea of a sun worshipping site is given. It almost suggests an astronomical calendar.

I like the line drawings. They have panache and style.

image006

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

