An unkind thought

In the early days of my relationship with my wife – some years before we married, I used to share a sort of joke with her.

‘If ever’, I said, ‘I was going to dump you, I’d do it at Horley Station’.

Horley Station seemed to have so little to commend it. It was bleak, dark and dismal partly because a road overbridge went across the station, shielding the platforms from sunlight.

Well of course such a thing never happened and I hope I’d never have been unkind enough to have carried out such an idea if the situation had ever arisen.

But we were both amused, the other day, at Quainton Road, to find at least four platform name signs from Horley.

image002

Should I take the opportunity of such a chance? No! Definitely not.

This platform name sign is one of many at this railway centre.

image004Here’s a collection including two Horley signs.

If I look at modern pictures of Horley Station it looks no worse than many others.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

