I-Spy – on the farm.

We have not one, but two of these books.

image002

One belonged to my family – it has my brother’s name in it. The other belonged to my wife.

The book was produced in the 1950s and gives a taste of what might have been seen on farms back then. I remain really pleased that we saw Dick Freeman who operated on the farm where we camped, spreading seed by hand. My brother has it filled in.

image004

It seems we saw this highly prized, 50 point winning scene on 15th August 1957. My wife, much less rural than us, never saw such a thing. From her book let’s see milk collection.

image006

My wife saw these on 22/23rd August 1962. She must have been on holiday in Dorset. She got 10 points for a roadside churn platform and another 10 for the lorry.

These days, of course, it is all bulk tank so the scenes depicted have now passed into history.

The old I-Spy books are a wonderful reminder of times past and in their day provided enough factual information to keep kids interested.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

